rascol_charcutiers.png

RASCOL FAMILY

French butchers from Occitania

The Rascol company: in ham for three generations

The Philippe Rascol cured meats company is a family business and intends to remain so. For three generations we have been making hams ... focused on improvement each day.

"Know-how remains a tradition passed down from father to son, and we intend to preserve it," Philippe Rascol immediately affirms. We will know how to avoid expanding too much ”.

Philippe took over from Marcel, who himself had succeeded Emile. The family business is based in the Lacaunais hamlet Les Vidals. Sandrine, the wife, and Pierre, the brother, are involved in the common work ... which has just been awarded by a first prize at the last national dry ham competition, recognized by the federation of the charcuterie industries of France (FICT).

“We have been candidates eight times, and three times awarded, but only once by the national prize, rejoices Philippe. A first prize for dry ham from Lacaune. Personal satisfaction, family success, recognition of the work done ... but also, more broadly, recognition of the work of all wage workers undertaken for eight years, with the obsession of obtaining the AOC ”.

50 HAMS WEEK

The Rascol company does not offer direct sales; it selects its circuit: "Grocery stores, butchers, cold meats, in the Tarn, Hérault and the Paris region", specifies the business manager.

Just as rigorously they choose the raw material, the pigs: “25/30 pigs per week, coming from Tarn or Aveyron. They should have a standard weight of about 110 kilos of meat, with a certain thickness of bacon. We know exactly what these animals eat ... in particular, grains from the same area. "

The company produces around 50 cured hams per week, i.e. between 2,000 and 3,000 hams during the year.

Dry sausages, sausages, and a little of cooked products (blood sausage, fricandeaux, pâtés) complete the range.

Whatever the products, the line remains the same: quality rather than quantity.

rascol_charcutiers.png

Famille RASCOL

SALAISONIER

Producteur français d'Occitanie

L'entreprise Rascol : dans le jambon depuis trois générations

L'entreprise de salaisons Philippe Rascol est une entreprise familiale et compte bien le rester. Voilà trois générations qu'elle fabrique des jambons... de plus en plus bons.

« Le savoir-faire reste une tradition transmise de père en fils, et nous comptons bien la préserver, affirme d'emblée Philippe Rascol. Nous saurons nous garder de trop nous agrandir ».

Philippe a pris la succession de Marcel, qui avait lui même succédé à Emile. L'entreprise familiale est installée sur le hameau Lacaunais Les Vidals. Sandrine, l'épouse, et Pierre, le frère, sont partie prenante de l'oeuvre commune... qui vient d'être consacrée par un premier prix au dernier concours national de jambon sec, reconnu par la fédération des industries charcutières de France (FICT).

« J'ai été huit fois candidats, et trois fois récompensé, mais une seule fois par le prix national, se réjouit Philippe. Un premier prix jambon sec de Lacaune, puis un 3e prix, et cette consécration. Une satisfaction personnelle, une réussite familiale, une reconnaissance du travail effectué... mais, aussi, plus largement, la reconnaissance du travail de tous les salaisonniers entrepris depuis huit ans, avec pour obsession l'obtention de l'AOC ».

50 JAMBONS SEMAINE

L'entreprise Rascol ne propose pas de vente en direct; elle sélectionne son circuit: « Epiceries, boucheries, charcuteries, dans le Tarn, l'Hérault et la région parisienne », précise le chef d'entreprise.

Celui-ci sélectionne avec tout autant de rigueur sa matière première, les cochons: « 25/30 cochons par semaine, en provenance du Tarn ou de l'Aveyron. Ils doivent avoir un poids standard de 110 kilos de viande environ, avec une certaine épaisseur de lard. Nous savons exactement ce que mangent ces bêtes... en particulier, des céréales du même secteur. »

L'entreprise fabrique environ 50 jambons secs par semaine, soit entre 2000 et 3000 jambons au cours de l'année.

Saucisses sèches, saucissons, et un peu de cuit (boudin, fricandeaux, pâtés) complètent la gamme.

Quels que soient les produits, la ligne reste identique: qualité plutôt que quantité.