Limousine panorama.jpg

DELMAS Gilles

BREEDER

French breeder from Occitania

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

Located in a small village in the north-west of Héraultais, the farm was created in 1965 by André Delmas, and operates today with the three sons, in a joint farming group (GAEC de Montahut), and three employees fulltime.

The breeding consists of 66 beef cows of the Limousin breed. The animals are raised in the traditional way. They graze in spring, with their calves, in the natural meadows around the village. To this is added a herd of 600 Lacaune breed ewes. Their milk is collected every morning for the making of Roquefort.

Milking begins on January 5 and lasts about 200 days, depending on the period: between 300 and 700 liters leave for the famous cellars. While the 150 “meat” ewes graze morning and evening, the lambs stay at the sheepfold and feed on their mother's milk, cereals and hay sown and harvested on the farm. The Delmas family also owns 19 ha of vines in the plain, including 4 ha in AOC faugères.

Limousine panorama.jpg

DELMAS Gilles

ELEVEUR

Éleveur français d'Occitanie

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

 Situé dans u petit village au nord ouest Héraultais, l’exploitation a été créée en 1965, par André Delmas, et fonctionne aujourd’hui avec les trois fils, en groupement agricole  d’exploitation en commun (GAEC de Montahut),  et trois salariées à temps plein.

L’élevage est constitué de 66 vaches à viande de la race limousine. Les bêtes sont élevées de façon traditionnelle. Elles pâturent dès le printemps, avec leurs veaux, dans les prairies naturelles autour du village. À cela s’ajoute un troupeau de 600 brebis de race Lacaune. Leur lait est collecté tous les matins pour le roquefort..

La traite commence le 5 janvier et dure 200 jours environ, selon la période : entre 300 et 700 litres partent pour les célèbres caves. Le temps que les 150 brebis “viande” pâturent matin et soir, les agneaux restent à la bergerie et se nourrissent du lait de leur mère, de céréales et de foin semés et récoltés sur l’exploitation. La famille Delmas possède également 19 ha de vignes dans la plaine dont 4 ha en AOC faugères.